The “Twilight Zone”

twilight_zone_-_Google_SearchI just had an out of body experience that has occurred a few times in my past. As a rule I go to bed when I’m tired. Sometimes that can seem sort of early, which was the case today when I hit the sack at around 4:30 p.m. in the afternoon. I slept very soundly and comfortably with the white noise and cool breeze being provided by my new oscillating desktop fan.

When I awoke I saw the daylight shining through my window slats and thought how wonderful it was to sleep in late. I arose, let more light in my bedroom, and started my morning routine. As I left my bedroom I bumped into my landlord and wished him a cheerful “good morning”! He repled in kind as I closed my bathroom door for privacy, tinkled, and then gave myself my long lasting shot of insulin. I’m a type 2 diabetic that must take pills and insulin shots, once in the morning and a 2nd, fast acting insulin before each meal.

The only problem this morning came when I looked at my desk clock after getting out of my bathroom. It was after 8 in the morning you see. That’s highly unlikely! I looked closer at my computer screen and discovered it was 8:30 P.M.. I had laid down just 4 hours earlier. It wasn’t morning but instead, it was early evening. This is where the Twilight music starts playing in the background. I had lost a day somewhere or maybe I had inadvertently gained a day. It’s all a matter of perspective isn’t it? 🙂

9 thoughts on “The “Twilight Zone”

  1. I’ve had that kind of thing happen if I’m really tired and lie down for a little nap in the middle of the afternoon. If I’ll set an alarm for about 20-30 minutes, no problem, but if I don’t and I sleep a couple hours, then it’s sometimes been really hard to get awake. One time I woke up at 5:00, and since I often wake at 5:00 in the morning, I assumed that was the time. I got up to go to the bathroom, but as I walked through my kitchen, I realized the sun was coming through that west window, and I thought,” Wait a minute. The sun isn’t supposed to be back there. It’s supposed to be in the east. What’s wrong? What’s going on?” It took me a couple more minutes to remember that I had lain down at 2:00 and that it was now 5:00 in the evening. Believe me, I breathed a sigh of relief when I remembered. I know other people who have had those experiences. They’re not fun. Just be sure you eat enough to make up for that extra shot in the evening.

    • Shoot, I even took one too many shots of long lasting insulin thinking it was morning already. I’ve had this happen before, even getting up and getting in my car to go to work before I noticed it was getting darker, not lighter. Duh!

  2. Pingback: The “Twilight Zone” | Smokey's Collections

Leave a Reply

