Meet Ruka

I was excited to get my first opportunity to meet our new male black rhino, Ruka, today. He was released from quarantine this week and allowed to roam his outside environment freely although without his new mate, Zuri. I don’t know how long it will be before the zo puts the two out there together. That might be an exciting day as those two behemoths get together for the first time. I actually think Zuri looks to be the bigger of the two. I’ll need to do some research to see the ages of the two. I’m sure the zoo is thinking of breeding the pair and that there are plans for a much bigger environment for them in the future.

Ruka 01

2 thoughts on “Meet Ruka

Leave a Reply

