Cast Iron Cookware

I’m curious. Does anyone out there uses cast iron cookware on a regular basis? I’ve used a few skillets now and then and love the way the food tastes and looks coming out of cast iron. My mom used cast iron skillets that were so old and well used that the inside bottoms were shiney smooth. Nothing stuck to them. French toast was absolutely the best out of a bug cast iron skillet. Mom used to get my brother to make her hardwood replacement handles every now and then. She’s throw them in the oven for certain dishes. She had cast iron that fit the deep skillet or dutch oven.

I’m considering buying an induction cooktop that requires cookware containing magnetic materials. Cast iron certainly would qualify there. Induction cooking units don’t waste heat. They magnetically heat just the bottom of the pan, transferring the heat directly to the contents evenly. You can actually place a paper towel between the pan and the cooktop to cook while catching any spatter exiting the pan if you’re not using a lid. Since I seldom need more than one pan to cook a dish It sounds ideal when you also have a microwave.

Let me know about your experience with cast iron cookware and induction cooking. Thanks!

Duxtop 1800W Cooktop

6 thoughts on “Cast Iron Cookware

  1. Sorry I never have. I do not use a stove, but use an electric griddle and an electric fry pan. I use the electric fry pan for steaming veggies and meat dinners. I also use a crock pot or slow cooker. Sorry no help on the cast iron cook ware and I like th idea of the cast iron and induction cooking and looks like it takes very little room and little clean up. I am looking forward to reading what others have to say about this.

  2. I use mostly cast iron. WAIT on this stuff. You are going to have a whole kitchen you can use. And I have a LOT of cast iron and stainless. More than I ever use. The ONLY thing wrong with cast iron is the weight. It’s heavy.

    • I just gave away two huge cast iron Le Creuset pots and pans that were enamel coated a burnt orange color. They cost hundreds of dollars each. I think I’ll hold off on buying anything until I’ve moved and get a feel for what I need to supplement my existing stuff.

  3. I looked at the descriptions on Amazon for units from this company. In the description for the “DUXTOP 1800-Watt Portable Induction Cooktop Countertop Burner 9100MC it says “Compatible with Duxtop and other induction ready cookware such as cast aluminum enameled iron and steel, stainless steel with a magnetic bottom, or cast iron” I’m trying to get a handle on whether it works with the Revere ester sets that are copper bottom and stainless inside.

    • I don’t think so because copper is not ferrous or magnetic. They sell a flay plate that is used as a converter for ant pan. The cooktop heats this plate and convection transfers the heat to the copper bottom pans. Not as efficient but it will allow you to use any pan.

  4. Sorry Bob, can’t help with kitchen stuff as I’m domestically challenged especially when it comes to cooking. Good luck with both.
    I will say if cast iron is anything like stainless steel – it has to be heated up first than reduce the temp to cook
    am:)

Leave a Reply

