No Such Thing As Perfection

No matter how much time I spend on any single photograph I’ve come to the conclusion that there is no such thing as perfection. I can go back to a photo months later, have learned new trick or just having improved my skills and work on the same photo again.

Still, when asked to show my favorite shots I gravitate to certain pictures, ones I know are the closest thing to perfection for me. You always want to put your best foot forward which is why the “It’s good enough” mentality of some cellphone photographers irritates me. The same folks love to take “selfies”. LOL

So here I sit, in the wee hours of the morning, revisiting some of those favorite photographs looking for ways to improve them. I may zoom way in and remove dust specks, noise, stray hairs or feathers, whatever! Then I compare the before and after to see if I’ve gone too far, making the edit look artificial. If so, I trash the edit and move on. It is a labor of love after all!

Sharp Lorikeet Portrait

5 thoughts on “No Such Thing As Perfection

Leave a Reply

