Just Leave It Alone

I was in a creative mood the other day when I went to our backyard to see what I could find to photograph. My experiment involved sitting on a number of benches and chair back there to give me different perspectives on the contents. You’d be surprised how much of a difference it makes to get down low. I used to practice the phenomenon when I first took up photography in 1970. My circumstances gave me free film and chemical to process it. Back in the days of 35mm film it was expensive to do such experimentation unless you were wealthy or got your supplies for free. I would make contact prints of the resulting images and print them in my locker with an overhead light bulb for exposure. I didn’t even have a timer. One thousand one, one thousand two, one thousand three, etc..

When I took the photo below I really like the composition and texture in the shot. I could have leveled the chair but something just told me to leave it alone. I could picture myself sitting in that chair because that’s exactly what I did during my outdoor session. I moved around the yard.

I’m aware when I look at another photographer’s work that I wasn’t there where and when it was shot. I don’t know the emotional state of the photographer when they pressed that shutter button. I have, therefore, no right to critique or criticize the end result. Photography is very much an artform open to speculative interpretation.

The Chair In The Backyard #1

3 thoughts on “Just Leave It Alone

Leave a Reply

