Starting The New Year Right

I suppose I should have titled this Finishing 2015 Right instead. I picked up my phone yesterday and called my brother and his wife yesterday for the first time in nearly 10 years. I’ll not get into the reasons for the silence but just that I was led to reconnect. I talked for hours to both of them, giving them a brief history breakdown of my moves around the country. They’ve lived in O’Fallon, Illinois for decades on their farm. The last time I saw their two kids, a boy and a younger sister, they were grade schoolers. Now the oldest is closing on 40. Holy cow that’s a long time out of touch. My sister in law is 61 and just a few months from officially retiring and drawing early Social Security. My brother is 64 and already retired. They are both doing fine, despite the record floods in St. Louis so very near to them. Fortunately their property is high ground so they were not affected.

It’s a new year in a new part of the country with a New England Winter just around the corner. All you can do is prepare as best you can and know that in retirement to don’t have to fight traffic trying to get to work. I know, that’s a 4 letter word but I had to type it. šŸ™‚

So here’s to new beginnings, with my family in the Midwest and here In Uxbridge, MA. May it be a good year for all. Happy New Year!

Dopey

3 thoughts on “Starting The New Year Right

Leave a Reply

