Noise Reduction Tricks

I just finished processing the family portraits I wrote about in my previous post. On completion of the images I noticed the horizontal version retained a great deal of noise or grain, depending on your terminology preference. It shows up in the black areas of the clothing and is noticeable if you zoom in or just look carefully. One of my graphic Plug-in filters from Topaz has the unique ability to reduce the detail amount and size in any photograph. By carefully using this filter I all but eliminated that pesky noise. I am posting the before and after effect of using Topaz Simplify as a noise reduction solution. Unfortunately WordPress has still not repaired its ability to zoom in on posted pictures the way it used to work, making looking at fine detail nearly impossible. I apologize for their need to constantly “improve” everything.

 

Noise Reduction

Leave a Reply

