Herbie Survives The Blizzard of 2016

It was quite a storm! tens of thousands of people up and down the East Coast were affected. Records were set in cities not used to heavy snow. They were not prepared. Boston, on the other hand, is the best prepared city in that lineup. Fortunately for those of us living in Uxbridge the storm only skimmed us with its dying breath before heading out to sea. We caught about 4″ maybe 5″. It did a nice job of providing a beautiful blanket of clean, white, powdery snow. It will promptly melt by Tuesday night as temperatures will be above freezing all day & night with a high of 47. Woo Hoo, get out your sunscreen!

I manage to be the first person hiking up our driveway just after sunrise. It was about 6:00 a.m.. After taking a few frames of Herbie and the yellow Sunbird I looked behind me to notice my footprints in the snow leading up that driveway. I snapped a few of those virgin tracks before proceeding to clean the snow off all three vehicles. The Jeep Patriot, with its 4-wheel drive, was still at the bottom of the hill next to our entrance door. The plow would come much later in the day to clear the driveway. Nobody felt like moving cars to get the area under them cleared knowing the higher temperature to come Tuesday.

Herbie Covered In Snow #1

Upper Driveway Cars In Snow

First Steps In The Snow

4 thoughts on “Herbie Survives The Blizzard of 2016

    • I enjoyed going out at 6:00 a.m. to take pictures at sunrise and clean off all the vehicles. It was my good deed for the day. In doing so I was reminded that I’m 66, not 20 anymore. My legs noticed it the most as I came close to cramping after starting to climb the stairs blind upstairs. I’m out of shape and know it. 😦

Leave a Reply

