Beautiful But Deadly

Ok then, we finally got a taste of a real snowstorm here in Uxbridge. We reportedly got as much as 11″ total for the 24 hour period. As you can see from the photos below it was a very wet, heavy, sticking snow. That creates a lot of problems with falling trees that couldn’t support all that weight. Every blade of grass, every twig was covered with inches of snow. Tonight temperatures will be in the low 20s, freezing all that wet snow. I have no intention of going out the next few days until this all melts. We’ll get temperatures in the 40s by then, helping the melt get going.

After a grocery trip in the middle of the snow I learned that I won’t be doing that again. I may have no trouble driving but there are crazy, inexperienced drivers out there speeding in terrible conditions. It will be safer to stay home and wait it out from now on. Check out the garbage cans outside our back door. It shows quite a buildup of snow.

Beautiful But Deadly

Trashcan Snow 2_5_2016

5 thoughts on “Beautiful But Deadly

  1. For you, it’s a taste. For us, it’s a flashback. Our road is deadly all by itself. Garry took out my Acura and nearly himself on a day such as today, a mere couple of hundred yards the house. The roads can look fine, but when it’s snowing, there’s a good chance you’re going to hit ice on this road. I’ve done some heart stopping slides where I realized was NOT going to stop. I just hoped a truck was not heading my way as I gracefully slid down the hill towards the tree ahead.

Leave a Reply

