When Not To Upgrade Your Camera

Fuji Camera has announced a new camera on the market, the X70. It’as so new you must preorder it from Amazon.com or B&H Camera in New York. It touts a 16MP APS-C sensor, 18mm F/2.8 Fixed lens and a reticulating rear 3″ LCD screen. There is no Optical View Finder. All this will set you back $699.

I own two Fuji X-E1 bodies and 5 Fujinon X-Series lenses including the 18mm F/2.0 fixed focal length lens. You can buy a new X-E1 camera with an 18-55mm F/2.8-4.0 lens that has Optical Image Stabilization for $649 at Amazon.com right now: http://www.amazon.com/Fujifilm-Compact-Digital-2-8-Inch-18-55mm/dp/B00F9HUAKY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1455101773&sr=8-2&keywords=Fuji+X-E1.

Why would you order a new model with fewer features and is less versatile for $50 more? I won’t waste my money as long as the better camera & lens is available new with full warranty.

Fuji X-70

Fuji X-E1 Front

6 thoughts on “When Not To Upgrade Your Camera

  1. I’d like to upgrade to something at some point, but there’s no money, so I’m stuck with my little point-and-click. Considering that I photograph just for fun, I manage to get it to do what I want most of the time. I probably wouldn’t know what to do with all those extra features anyway.

Leave a Reply

