Moving Day

I’ve been waiting just a few short months for public housing to offer an apartment unit in Uxbridge, MA. That offer arrived two days ago and I signed the lease Tuesday. I was given a walkthrough tour of my apartment by one of the maintenance staff before returning to the office to finalize the paperwork and get my keys. Now the fun begins, moving.

I’ve never done this kind of move alone with just my SmartCar to haul everything. Although my initial move to Massachusetts was done with my car loaded to the brim with my possessions it was on the back of a flatbed truck and driven 3100 miles. This time around I’m doing the driving, all 3 miles of it.

The Calumet Complex of apartments is designed for seniors as they are all single dwelling, ground floor units. Since they generally have one bedroom and a small footprint I find their well equipped kitchen and bathrooms their most attractive features. The bedroom/living room area is not separated by walls but utilizes a breakfront shelving unit with a painted pegboard privacy area in the middle. That setup allows for maximum flexibility when displaying or storing your stuff. There are hundreds of different attachments for pegboard walls. I plan on adding at least a few small shelves for things like my Bose mini soundlink bluetooth speaker system. The rear of that breakfront has a conveniently centered shelf for a TV or large computer monitor such as my 25.1″ iMac. I like the hardwood floors throughout the unit.

Today is my last day living with Garry & Marilyn Armstrong. I appreciate their hospitality for the past 6 months. They welcomed me to their home and made me feel part of their family. I hope to be sleeping in my new apartment tonight.

I have lots of work yet to do getting the remaining stuff moved and setup. I purchased a queen size Fox airbed that measures 60″x80″x25″ to go in the tiny bedroom area. Quality reports on this heavy duty bed were all good so I hope it holds up for a while. It comes complete with its own built-in pump that is reported to take just over 4 minutes to inflate the bed. I also purchased two identical queen size navy blue microfiber blankets to turn me into a giant Oreo double stuff cookie. πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know how that works out.

So now it’s a matter of stuffing as much stuff as I can into my car this morning and making my first trip of the day to Calumet Court. I have at least 4 orders of goodies coming from Amazon.com and WalMart in the next few days. I need to contact Charter Cable for internet and TV service. I’ve done the post office thing, updating my mailing address as well as changing crucial addresses for my official documents like driver’s license and credit cards. It seems like I just went through that ordeal! I did, about 6 months ago!

All toll this is a 3 mile move to a ground floor apartment 1.5 miles from the senior center in Uxbridge. I hope it all works out. Time will tell.

!0 Calumet Court

19 thoughts on “Moving Day

  1. Very nice and bright! I am sure you will be very comfortable there! Wished I lived closer..could load up my RAV4!

    • I had plenty of offers to help but the logistics of the move happening on a Tuesday didn’t allow me the luxury of getting someone. I decided to get it done with 4 trips using my SmartCar. πŸ™‚

    • I slept there for the first time last night. My new queen size airbed is huge and very comfortable. I must wait until Friday for the cable guy and my internet. Doing this from my tablet at McDonald’s.

    • I could write a novel on just the past 6 months. My life is a whirlwind of constant activity. I rub off on people with my high energy. A lot of seniors at our local senior center have started coming on a regular basis just because I show them some attention and care about them.

      • I believe in sharing and giving back. People can’t believe I’m a National Geographic photographer until I take them to my NG website given to me by NG. It even has my mug shot on it. πŸ™‚

      • Speaking of that, I remember going to that site when you gave the link on your blog once. I usually bookmark pages that I want to return to, but since I’ve changed computers, I don’t have that link now. Could you put it on your blog again so we can all find it? Thanks.

      • Like the room arrangement and think it can be made not a very comfortable and stylish home.

      • Considering I’ve only lived here a few days and most of my furniture is still to be purchased and setup I have a lot more decorating to do. Then there’s these blank white walls. Gots lots of pictures to hang. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

