Life In My New Apartment

I’ve been in my new housing unit for just under a month now and life is shaping up nicely. I have 90% of the furniture that I need with plans to build the last remaining piece, a custom dresser. In preparation for that project I’ve purchased basic power tools and accessories to allow me to build just about anything. I now have a Black & Decker Workmate 425 clamping table that I’ve already modified to become a woodworker’s workbench. I used that new workbench this morning to build a computer stand with pull-out shelf for my pen/touch tablet, wireless keyboard and wireless scroll mouse. Thanks to that project my iMac and all the mentioned accessories are at the perfect height for comfort during the long editing hours I regularly put in.

A custom dresser will get all my socks & underwear off the open shelves I’m presently using. It will be a basic dresser, painted, built to fit in the available space I have at the end of my bed next to my bathroom. Since I have a receptacle on that same spot I’ll add a lamp and maybe a clapper switch to turn it on when I get up to tinkle. πŸ™‚

My new workbench folds up and tucks away on the back wall of my main entrance closet. I can get it out and have it opened up for use in less than a minute. With a 2 foot by 4 foot top it’s big enough to handle fairly large sheet goods although I need to have some custom cuts by my lumber yard in order to tote it all in my SmartCar. πŸ™‚ Life is good!

Wokmate 425

6 thoughts on “Life In My New Apartment

  1. Hi Bob, It sounds like you are thriving in your new nest. I am so happy for you. And you don’t have grumpy opinionated people to bother you. You have a locked door etc. What talents you have with wood. My friend Debby’s husband Leonard was a master woodworker. She took him to Walmart to measure a dining buffet and hutch…she wanted a different size. He did a beautiful job making it. He used to always win ribbons at the fair with his treasures. Now he has pickins syndrome which is similar to Alzheimer’s, but slower and more unpredictable hour by hour so some of his stuff turns out nice and some doesn’t. When I was there 2 years ago he said he had scrap wood and would like to make me a cutting board. I said I wanted a pretty small one and would he make Rebecca one too. They turned out perfect; they are beautiful woods and the perfect size. 4 years ago Debby and I asked him for about 20 min. if he could make me a small shelf for the end of my kitchen cabinet and sadly he couldn’t figure it out and made he something that I couldn’t use.
    We painted the edges above the baseboards today where the baseboards were lower than where we painted last year. It is so wonderful to have the floors level. What a concept.
    Congratulations on your new home

Leave a Reply

