Now THAT’S A Bug!

While sitting outside my apartment yesterday a bug I took for a giant mosquito flew in front of my eyes and landed on a 2×4 piece of lumber I had on the bench next to me. Keep in mind a 2×4 is actually 1 1/2″ on edge making this winged creature almost 2″ long. I found out later it had chosen its last resting place as it literally died right where it landed of natural causes, I didn’t dare swat it. I had my camera in my hand so I had to capture this monster for my archives.

After a bit of research on Wikipedia I’ve discovered my monstrous bug is actually a crane fly. They are beneficial bugs that eat aphids out of your garden or yard. They don’t bite humans.

Bug On Wood 01

2 thoughts on “Now THAT’S A Bug!

Leave a Reply

