African Crowned Crane

I finally made a trip to the Southwick Zoo today. It’s just 2.8 miles from my house so it doesn’t take long to get there on the back roads I take. I didn’t stay long as it was a sunny day without a cloud in the sky. I arrived right at 10:00 a.m. for the zoo opening but I was in and out in about half an hour. When the light isn’t right I know I’m wasting my time. All I get is frustrated by the high contrast, blown out results when trying to capture the animals. It’s not their fault, it’s nature’s. Give me a good old fashioned overcast day anytime.

So I did come away with one keeper. I deleted the other 65 frames. This shot was taken shooting between the chain link fence, as usual. There are some animals, like the monkeys, I won’t even attempt to photograph because they are surrounded with two sets of chain link mesh. Being all outdoors it’s the only option to contain them.

I did see two young ladies each carrying one of the red Macaws on a perch while walking across the road in front of Gate 3. They may have been returning from the vet or maybe a show of the birds at a school. It was an unusual occurrence to me.

So here’s my African Crowned Crane in all his/her glory. It’s got that attitude look in its eyes.

African Crowned Crane 04

9 thoughts on “African Crowned Crane

  1. Pingback: African Crowned Crane — – mazzellaerasmo16

Leave a Reply

