Female House Sparrow

The other day I posted photos of a male house sparrow that lives in my backyard. One of my followers, Martin Fine, educated me on the differences between a house sparrow and a chipping sparrow. Wikipedia went further showing me that male house sparrows have a black throat. They also showed the female variety doesn’t.

Yesterday, while sitting in my favorite outdoor chair, I was capturing images of the birds in my yard. I have a prolific collection because everyone who lives here puts out food for the animals including feeders and birdhouses.

I must be patient, camera in hand, for birds to land within range of my lens, a 55-200mm zoom. I finally caught a couple of good, stable shots of what turned out to be a female house sparrow. I double checked Wikipedia to make sure. 🙂

Female House Sparrow 01

Female House Sparrow 02

3 thoughts on “Female House Sparrow

    • We have so many birds, chipmunks and squirrels you wouldn’t believe it. They are used to the seniors here and know they are safe. They regularly walk right up to you.

Leave a Reply

