Temporary Reprieve

It’s been a rough month for hot weather and humidity. Even now at 3:00 a.m. in the morning it’s 95% humidity and 73 degrees. There’s no wind, zero mph. Our high today will only reach 77 so at least we won’t return to the 90s for at least 4 days. With just a fan it’s hard to cool down my apartment because of that extremely high humidity.

Our forecasters have been talking about big rain on Friday and Saturday. We’re in such desperate need of rain due to a prolonged drought this Summer. Only stupid people would complain about an all day soaker at this point. I define stupid people as those so spoiled by their central air conditioning and watered, kept lawns that they’re not really in touch with reality. Stick them in my one room apartment this past week and then ask them what they would think about a refreshing shower to clear the air, water the lawns and plants and give our dry tinderbox landscape a little relief.

The older I get the less I can tolerate this kind of weather. If I could wish for something it would be a new window air conditioner to cool down my 200 square foot unit. It’s the same old story, money. I’m saving every penny for my roadtrip to South Carolina this September. My budget has so little wiggle room that I must set my sights on only one thing at a time. This is life in the slow lane called retirement. Still I’m grateful for what I have. I’m in a nice apartment with all my utilities paid for by Uncle Sam. I have full medical coverage from the VA and a decent car in good condition to get me around. Gas prices are slowly dropping to under $2.10 a gallon here in the Blackstone Valley. Life is good!

I haven’t been very enthusiastic about going anywhere to take new pictures lately. My enthusiasm and energy and wallet are all low at the same time, the perfect storm. So I look forward to the possibility of rain during the next few days. Don’t be surprised if my neighbors catch me sitting outside in shorts and sandals if a shower comes around, πŸ™‚

sitting_in_the_rain_cartoon_-_Google_Search

 

9 thoughts on “Temporary Reprieve

    • I was just taking the trash out to the dumpster across the parking lot. I was bare chested and in sandals as a light rain was falling. It proved quite refreshing! The temperature is 20 degrees cooler than the past week. Love this!

  1. It’s so dry and there are fires going on in the south. I would love it to rain for days and days! When we were in NYC I couldn’t stand that heat and humidity. Oy! Glad we don’t have humidity here.

    • I’ve lived in so many different parts of the country that I’ve seen the best and worst. The best was Portland, OR and the worst was Aiken, SC where my sister still lives. Uxbridge is somewhere in between. I love the people and small town atmosphere here but dislike the hot, humid, dry Summer. It doesn’t help that I’m now 67 with a very limited fixed budget. God provides!

      • I love Oregon and I do like Portland. But oh the rain….although right now with the way it’s going, I’d take rain over no rain. We need it so badly! I’ve gotten to be such a wimp with weather the older I get too….I like it mild lol.

      • I just got my wish as I sit here in front of my window with the temp at 79. There’s a cool breeze blowing on my from the trees in my backyard. What a contrast from the past 10 days of heat and humidity!

Leave a Reply

