Subdued Light, Subdued Color

Sometimes in shooting and post processing you can end up with a real keeper that would look good in a frame hanging on your wall. The subject matter is almost a secondary consideration in this instance. With an overcast sky colors are saturated but can be toned down due to a lower light level. This is my favorite light for photography. I used to head for the Oregon Zoo in these lighting conditions knowing that I’d come home with a high percentage of “keepers”.

Such was the case this past Sunday when I joined my church congregation in their annual picnic at Fairwoods campgrounds in Uxbridge. It’s only about 1-2 miles from my house. There was a light drizzle falling with overcast skies as I took the picture below. It’s nothing spectacular, just a colorful shed with weathered wood siding. Still, it pleases the eye!

Shack Framed

Leave a Reply

