Bob On Vacation – The Journey

I actually left for South Carolina a day early and surprised my sister with a phonecall when I was an hour from her home. The 1000 mile drive was uneventful as my trusty Tom Tom GPS lead me flawlessly to my destination. I drove 500 miles a day using primarily Interstate highways like I-84, I-81, I-77 & finally I-20. My little SmartCar performed flawlessly, getting in excess of 47 mpg at 70 mph on the open interstate. My 8 have

Lon tank only had to use about 22 gallons of gas as it willingly ran for 10 hours a day. I stopped for a night’s rest at a Comfort Inn in Woodstock, WV. I was able to get a veteran’s discount on a King size bed for $89 a night. Of course with all the taxes and fees it turned out to be closer to $100 by the time I checked out 4:00 a.m. the following morning. Had I stuck around until 6:00 there would have been a full breakfast for free but I had another 500 mile drive to reach my destination so I settled for a hot cup of coffee for the open road. I put 100 miles on my car before stopping for breakfast at an Omelet Shack along the road. I do love a good Omelet.

As I continued South the temperature rose as did the humidity. The air conditioning in my SmartCar performed flawlessly until it reached 95 with high humidity late into the afternoon. At that point the sunlight glaring through my large windshield simply heated ย the cabin of my two seater and became a tad bit uncomfortable. It was certainly bearable but noticeably warm.

I made sure to keep well hydrated as I drove, stopping at interstate rest stops to refill my drinking cup. I enjoyed the view as the miles rode by. The scenery was simple but elegant. Mother Nature is hard to beat when it comes to pure beauty.

I arrived at 1:00 p.m. in the afternoon Thursday. My sister was so very excited to see me when I pulled up in her driveway. Remember that I lived in South Carolina for 13 years so when I hit the Columbia area I knew my way around. Traffic was heavy during the final hour’s drive to my destination, Aiken, SC.

I hugged my sister, grabbed a refill on my water glass and used the bathroom before jumping in her car to accompany her on a client run previously scheduled. Then it was a quick drive back to my sister’s home to continue out conversation and begin catching up on the 11 years that had passed since we were close together.

I got to meet her 4 pets, a dog and 3 housecats. All greeted me individually. They certainly were not shy. I must close the door to my bedroom or I’d most assuredly have all 4 in my bed for the night. As I type this post I have a cat on my right arm, the dog on the sofa next to me and a second cat on my left side. I think they like me? ๐Ÿ™‚

So that pretty much wraps up the trip and safe arrival on my vacation. I have already worked on installing a security software program on Barb’s laptop with no hope for her old desktop. The are too many virus issue running rampant on that computer. I recommended a hard drive wipe and starting over. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I’ll try and post updates as I get the opportunity. I have no idea what’s on the agenda for today as I am a day early you recall. Take care my faithful followers and simply know that all is well with Bob.

10 thoughts on “Bob On Vacation – The Journey

    • Every day is a new adventure. I want to work on Barb’s laptop today, trying to get Photoshop downloaded and installed. She hasn’t been able to use it for about 8 months that I’ve had her signed up. Of course she never told me this and has nobody locally to help her for free. Why does everything have to come to money? Those that have money get help. Those that don’t do without. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  1. I hate to sound like a nag, but I don’t like the idea of your driving 100 miles first thing in the morning on nothing but a cup of coffee – especially if you deal with sugar level problems. You take better care of yourself on your return trip! Glad you got off to a great beginning though.

    • My blood sugar level when I first get up is high at over 200. Although my actions driving this week were out of the normal routine I’ve learned to sense when my blood sugar level drops too low. I take care of my needs. Thanks for your concern. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I just got Photoshop downloaded and installed on my sister’s laptop today. She has an SD memory card reader built into that same computer so now I can begin processing some of my trip pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yesterday I managed to successfully download Photoshop and get it installed on Barb’s computer. Next I need to begin teaching her the basics of how to use it. I also need to load weed whacker line so she can cut some grass. So much to do and so little time to do it.

Leave a Reply

