Our Deep Freeze

New England is famous for its Winters. Maybe I should have said they’re infamous for their Winters. Dec 10 and our first blast of Canadian air has reached us in a big way. It’s 17 degrees outside at 7:15 a.m. with a forecast that says we won’t make it past 30. Gratefully it’s supposed to be sunny today and dry. Glad I didn’t put away my sunscreen. 🙂

So far this Winter we’ve only gotten a taste of what’s to come. We had our inch of measureable snow earlier this week with 1″-3″ predicted for this coming Monday. I haven’t made the switch to my heaviest clothing just yet but I have plenty of sweats, and a Carhartt hooded jacket with fleece liner still available. There’s no concern about being fashionable during the Winter months. I have two Peruvian sheep herder’s hats to keep my head warm and waterproof, gauntlet gloves leftover from my motorcycle days. I’ll stay warm.

This is actually my first Winter in my public housing unit. During our first dusting of snow last week our maintenance guy, Mike, was out spreading salt all over the sidewalks, making sure our senior population didn’t break their necks. I’ve been told by residents that have been here a few Winters that they stay on top of the plowing of the parking lot as well. Residents are responsible for moving their vehicles so the spots can be plowed.

I know other parts of the country are getting an early taste of winter. The Northern states and Pacific Northwest where I moved from is getting hammered by freezing conditions and snow. Here’s to all my friends back there. You beat Uxbridge, MA to the punch this year. Yea! 🙂

cold_-_google_search

4 thoughts on “Our Deep Freeze

Leave a Reply

