After The Storm

The first big snow of the Winter of 2017/2017 dropped 8″ of snow on Uxbridge and over 14″ of the white stuff on Boston and the coast. I’m only going by what I just cleaned off the top of my SmartCar which is a pretty flat area and therefore an accurate assessment of the total accumulation. When the sun came up this morning our regular maintenance guy, Mike, was already out plowing the parking lot as well as any empty car slots. I quickly went out after snapping the pictures seen below to clean my car off and move it out of the slot so Mike could plow my slot. There was no need for verbal communication as he knew exactly what I was doing.

The snow that fell was dry and very powdery. It was a snap to brush it off my car. I have a long handled snow brush that reaches nearly all the way across my tiny roof. It only took about 5 minutes to completely clean off my car. My SmartCar, with positraction rear end and good snow tires had no problem moving out of my plowed in parking spot. I had great control and traction all the way.

So here’s a glimpse of my first snowfall in the Calumet Court Government subsidized senior housing complex. I fear it’s only the first of many to come this Winter.

1st-snow-2017

5 thoughts on “After The Storm

  1. We were lucky. My little town north of Buffalo only got a dusting of snow, while the communities just south of the city got up to 28 inches (at one point, it came down at the rate of 4 inches per hour!). People were stuck in their cars trying to get home for up to 10 hours, and some elementary school kids were on the bus until 4:00 am the next day because school didn’t close early enough to avoid the storm. Hubby and I are about to start looking for a new house, and it won’t be in the Southtowns, that’s for sure!

    • Keep in mind I’m 67 and in better shape than most of the seniors here. There are few men and they can barely walk. I can still walk miles without any issues. I’ve also been losing weight since moving here. That helps everything, my high blood pressure, arthritis and diabetes.

Leave a Reply

