The Simple Things That Thrill Me

I’m like a little kid in a toystore. I have all the time in the world to dedicate to my woodworking hobby. Once I put together some good quality hand tools the rest of the craft is simply learning the skills necessary to build quality stuff. I’m even dumpster diving these days for chunks of real wood to use for particular projects. Free wood is a good thing! LOL As the old saying goes “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure”!

I pulled a couple of nice pieces of very old hardwood from a broken chair thrown away in our dumpster. I knew what I had in my hand when I pulled them out and exactly what I would do with the pieces I salvaged. I used both pieces building a nice and improved shooting board in preparation for my purchase of a much larger wood plane in just over a weeks. Bigger plane, bigger shooting board. I’ll need to wait to complete the shooting board however because I want to customize it to the physical dimensions of the low angle #62 Jack Plane I’ll be buying from Lie-Nielsen. I’ve been watching dozens of YouTube videos on different shooting board designs and have a pretty good idea on what I plan to build.

The thrills I enjoy come from the small things. I cut the ends off my hardwood scraps using one of two Japanese back saws I’ve purchased since developing my tool kit in the past 6 months. I also purchased a quality magnetic saw guide from David Barron, a furniture maker working in England. It’s just the right combination of small tools to cut accurate, square crosscuts in wood. The resulting 90 degree cuts in those two hardwood pieces of salvaged lumber came out so perfect I had to pinch myself. The saw cut itself came out so smooth I didn’t need to touch it with sandpaper. What a saw! I sat down afterward with the scrap off cut piece just feeling the piece of wood, still in disbelief that I had produced that with just simple hand tools. Life is good! πŸ™‚

david-barron-magnetic-saw-guide

z-saw

 

2 thoughts on “The Simple Things That Thrill Me

  1. Wish I could see some of your results from your new tools. Ron isn’t doing anything with his tools and he has quite a few hardwood and many other pieces he salvaged a while back like you are doing. Wish I could give them to you.

    • Thank you for thinking of me. I’m having so much fun right now! I look forward to getting up every day. I found a home for my loveseat in my livingroom, a new homeless shelter needs donations. I don’t have money but I’m planning on building a new workbench where my loveseat is located. I offered it to that shelter at church yesterday. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

