Another Day Another Project

One of my senior neighbors, Karen, walked up to my unit as I was working on my garden planter platforms yesterday. She wanted to know If I’d make her a couple of flower planters for her outside garden. I happen to get an email this morning from Build Something, a YouTube channel subscription I get on a regular basis. Sure enough, they had a great design for flower pot stands that just might be the perfect answer to Karen’s request.

Judging by the dimensions of the lumber required to build this set of planter stands it would only require ripping 2″x4″ framing lumber down the middle to create the 1 1/2″x1 1/2″ pieces. That’s really easy on my new table saw. You see, dimensional lumber like a 2″x4″ is actually 1 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ when you take it home. The edges are rounded so if you cut it right down the middle you only must trip 1/8″ off the remaining edges to wind up with boards that are exactly 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ square. This would be a very cheap build, about $6 at the most for both planters, not including the pots. I’ll show Karen the photos and plans seen below and ask if they are what she wants. Remember, free is hard to beat! 🙂

Planter Stands

Planter Cuts:Parts List

5 thoughts on “Another Day Another Project

    • All you can do is your best. I learned a long time ago that trying to please everyone is impossible so I just satisfy my own standards and don’t worry about other’s opinions.

    • Now you’ve got the idea! I’m doing some testing to develop jigs to accurately cut the crossed pieces. I want the connecting half lap joints to look seamless. So far cutting these manually with a Japanese backsaw seems the way to have the most consistent success.

Leave a Reply

