Over & Under Scrap Wood Frame

My specialty table saw accessory arrived today that will allow me to make exact intricate picture frames out of basically scrap wood. Below is a graphical representation of the over & under weave that can be accomplished using 3/4″ sticks of different color or species of wood. I love the look which can be varied for a variety of art deco looks. When the rain stops in New England I’ll be able to get outside and cut the pieces for my first attempt at this technique. Here I go again, building beautiful things out of 2″x4″s! LOL

By experimenting with a variety of wood types combined with the almost unlimited types of rub in gel wood stains you can customize the exact look of the overall framed picture for just pennies per frame. The reproduction of any photo to 8.5″x11″ is just $1.25 at photo labs such as that found at Costco. I don’t know about you but I’d love to have this kind of artwork hanging on my walls, especially for under $5.

I have a box of 12″x12″x1/4″ Baltic Birch Plywood and just ordered two clear 12″x12″ acrylic sheets. All I need to complete the part list is a can of gel stain that would allow me to make dozens of frames. Remember, the frame pieces are just 3/4″x3/4″.

Frame Test 1

Frame Test 2

4 thoughts on “Over & Under Scrap Wood Frame

  1. Different frame then I have seen. Was it easier to make than the other ones you have made with the router? Love those expressions and you are good at capturing this.

    • What you see posted here is a Photoshop creation. The real item is yet to be made as we’re in the middle of a Nor’Easter downpour. I just got the MicroFit jig to make this type of frame for my birthday due to a generous Amazon gift card. Let the fun begin!

Leave a Reply

