Shocking My New Friends

It’s funny the things that happen when you get to know somebody. The most unassuming person you ever meet might just be a wealth of talent, knowledge and skills. I’ve lived in Massachusetts for about 19 months now and a number of people in my circle of acquaintances are getting to know me. They’re shocked to hear that I am an avid gardener, artist, photographer, woodworker, computer guru and electronic troubleshooter for over 45 years. I teach photography, electronics and computers. I’m an expert at Photoshop and have been for better than 20 years. I used to be a world class table tennis champion, once ranked in the top 100 in the world. I even excelled in lapidary, the cutting and grinding of gemstones. I get around!

Now I’m 68 with congestive heart failure, hypertension, type II diabetes, an enlarged prostate, kidney disease, cirrhosis of the liver, gout, terrible eyesight from birth and I have a terminal case of being butt ugly! My primary care physician says we can work on everything but the butt ugly! LOL

The arthritis caused by my gout is making woodworking more difficult all the time. My type II diabetes is taking its toll on my eyesight which hampers my photograph and computer graphics skills. As the old joke goes: “My death has been greatly exaggerated”!

Still, I’d rather teach than sell, give away rather that put a price on my work, past and present. I’m at the point in my life where I’m actively trying to “play it forward” for the next generation. I will build anybody anything they desire but I won’t want a penny in return. If I don’t want to do something no amount of money can tempt me. I’m not about money.

I am about making people happy. I was recently asked if I’d be willing to donate some of my favorite photographs to a charity auction. I said yes but they would have to choose the photographs and I’d gladly sign them. You see, they’re all my favorites, some 5,000 in my collection over the past 45 years.

So, as I get to know people in new England better my circle of friends grows. I take the term friend very seriously. I have 10 of 12 that I consider friend in the whole world. I keep in touch with every one of them. Good friends are precious!

3 thoughts on “Shocking My New Friends

  1. Yes, good friends are precious. I also of the photos you have shown us Mc D crew would be hard for me to pick just a few. Even perhaps even one. God made you thoughtful and very giving. Thanks and Blessings. We do love you

Leave a Reply

