Flower of the Day – June 16, 2017 – Bearded Iris

Flower of the Day – June 16, 2017 – Bearded Iris

One of the most intricate and beautiful flowers of Spring is the Bearded Iris. In the Pacific Northwest this species follows the Crocus and Daffodil in the order of Spring’s blooming flower species. They were prolific growers in Portland, OR during my 10 year stay there. I used to have them in my final home all over my backyard and surrounding neighborhood. I loved to photograph the myriad of colors and sizes represented in that climate. They could be found all over the walking paths of the Oregon Zoo.

Now that I live in the New England area one of the first flowers species to catch my attention were Bearded Iris. They grow in my next door neighbor’s tiny flower garden right outside my from door. Al’s garden is a refreshing reminder that you don’t need a lot of land or do a lot of work to grow flowers.

Bearded Iris

One thought on “Flower of the Day – June 16, 2017 – Bearded Iris

Leave a Reply

