Share Your World – June 19, 2017

Share Your World – June 19, 2017

What is something that people are obsessed with but you just don’t get the point of?

That’s easy, their cellphones!  Why do we need to be constantly connected to the world? Look back just twenty-five years ago. There were no portable phones or social networks. Now most are addicted to their use, walking down the sidewalk, on mass transportation or even illegally using their phones as they drive. I wish someone would drop a bomb emitting a huge EMP that would wipe out all communication devices. We might be forced to look at each other and develop personal communication skills again. Did you hear that Mr. President?

What quirky things do people do where you are from?

I’ve now lived in the Boston area for some 20 months and the obvious answer for me is that people here have forgotten how to pronounce the letter “R”. It’s cah, not car, pok not park. It’s a stupid accent in my opinion and it extends from the governor to the chief of police. Not to be outdone with the folks of New Joysy, ie. Jersey. Or New Hampshire. Sad!

What are some things you wish you could unlearn?

I don’t want to be “politically correct”! I want to put common sense and the ten commandments back into our moral society instead. When you take God out of our society you become politically correct. 😦 On that same note I’d love to forget every acronym out there. No more “text speak” either. Let’s go back to the proper use of the English language.

Who is someone that you miss having in your life?

That’s an easy question for me to answer, my best friend, Warren. I moved to New England so I could survive in retirement. I was forced to relocate because the housing market in Oregon got out of control, far outstripping my meager fixed income. We have only greed to thank for that. The great recession tore people’s lives apart, ended careers and tore apart families and friends. I miss Warren!

Warren 1_Leica

Not to be forgotten are a few more of my friends –

Friends 2

 

5 thoughts on “Share Your World – June 19, 2017

  1. I so agree with you about the mobile phones as we call them and text speak. i think social media is a useful tool for communicating but it is just a tool . It annoys me when I am with a person and they are playing with their phone and ignoring my presence.

    • I no longer associate with those people. I also make them aware of their rude behavior and why I no longer wish to associate with them. They will need me way before I need them!

Leave a Reply

