Fruits Of My Labor

It’s now time to start enjoying the fruits of my labor! I picked my first tomato from my garden yesterday but it didn’t survive long enough to take a picture. I rinsed it off under cold water in my kitchen sink and ate it all. πŸ™‚ What a delight it was, juicy, full of unspoiled flavor straight from Nature! This morning it’s early so I took the time to wash my 2nd tomato and plop it on my dark orange cutting mat from Ikea. It’s about 3-4 inches in diameter and just as good looking as my first one. I still have 3-4 more red ones on my 5 plants with 20 more hanging there ripening. There haven’t been enough ripe tomatoes yet to share but that will come soon.

I cut this one up along with celery, radishes and a cucumber from my garden. I poured a bit of Italian dressing on it and called it lunch. Yum! The celery and radishes came from Foppema’s Farm in Whitinsville, MA. Their produce is organically grown and has never been refrigerated. They put in on their shelves right out of their fields. I love their veggies and fruits.

Tomato No 2

7 thoughts on “Fruits Of My Labor

  1. So pretty !!!.πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸŒ΄πŸŒ»πŸŒ»πŸŒ»πŸŒ΄πŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸŒ΄πŸŒ»πŸŒΌπŸŒ»πŸŒ΄πŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸŒ΄πŸŒ»πŸŒΌπŸŒ»πŸŒ΄πŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸŒ΄πŸŒ»πŸŒ»πŸŒ»πŸŒ΄πŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸŒ΄πŸƒ
    πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ

  2. Mmmmmmmmmmm! I love tomatoes, but around here, it’s hard to know how much insecticide the people have used on them, and how safe they are if we just rinse them off. I generally wash mine for a prolonged period of time under warm running water to try to help wash everything off completely. I tried doing a garden all on my own one year. After working with a hoe until I made myself sick — tilling up the ground that had never been broken up previously — and planting tomatoes, beans, and melons, the rabbits ate so much of the stuff before it had a chance to get mature enough for me to eat it that I just finally gave up. We are surrounded by thousands of birds, hundreds of rabbits, and scores of raccoons, groundhogs, and skunks. I can’t afford to buy enough protective fencing and netting to keep the animals away. So I just buy my vegetables, wash them as well as I can, and pray over them before I eat them.

Leave a Reply

